Madison Range

Located in the Rocky Mountains, the Madison Range was named by Meriwether Lewis after then future-president James Madison, and lies in the westernmost section of the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem.

Gallatin Range

The Gallatin Range is home to large numbers of endangered species and ancient petrified forests.

Bridger Mountains

Located just north and east of Bozeman, most of the Bridger range is within the Gallatin National Forest. These local mountains are home to the most noteworthy peaks around Bozeman, including Saddle, Mount Baldy, Hardscrabble, Sacajawea, and Ross Peaks. 

Madison River

The Madison River is a river that is long enough to be categorized into four sections: Madison River in Yellowstone National Park, Yellowstone National Park Boundary to Quake Lake, Upper Madison- Quake Lake to Ennis Lake and Lower Madison- Ennis Lake to Three Forks. The river makes for a great paddle if you like rapids, a scenic mellow float and great fishing.


Hebgen Hotspot

The best place to stay near West Yellowstone.

The weather in West is notoriously unpredictable, so it pays to have a roof over your head and a warm bed waiting after a long day outside. One of the best basecamps we’ve found for a wide-ranging spring multisport is the Johnson Creek Cabin, off Hebgen’s north shore.

Thomas Turiano

Thomas Turiano got his start as a ski mountaineer in Fairport, New York where he learned to climb, sled, and ski on his icy 100-foot backyard hill. Afraid of rope tows, T-bars, and chairlifts, he was often seen sidestepping alone along the sides of ski runs at East Coast ski areas. Not only was he content with fewer runs, but also he learned to love climbing hard snow and relish every turn.


©2019 Outside Media Group, LLC
Powered by BitForge